Departmental Awards

Chemistry Faculty Member Named Professor Emeritus

Dr. John Sevenair has retired and been named Professor Emeritus after 35 dedicated years of service as a chemistry department faculty member.  Dr. Sevenair was part of the original group of faculty in the 1970’s who became the Science Education Research Group (SERG).  They met weekly to share ideas, discuss problems, and write papers about success in the sciences at Xavier.  Dr. Sevenair was also a departmental leader in the design of the current Organic Chemistry sequence of courses.  He was involved in the original reorganization of the course and he wrote the original drill manual and has since been continuously involved in the editing of the manual.   The addition of this system to the organic chemistry sequence has resulted in an increase in the success rates of students taking this traditionally challenging course.  Dr. Sevenair served the chemistry department as the Department Chair from 1993-1999.

Chemistry Faculty Member Received Academic Affairs Award

Dr. Maryam Foroozesh received an award and special recognition for her leadership in designing the Quality Enhancement Plan – Read Today, Lead Tomorrow.  Dr. Foroozesh worked tirelessly in leading her committee to design and begin implementing this highly regarded QEP.  This QEP was an integral part of the University’s bid for reaffirmation by the Southern Association for Colleges and Schools (SACS). 

Phi Lambda Upsilon Induction

Phi Lambda Upsilon (PLU), the National Chemistry Honor Society, held its annual member induction in February 2012.  Inducted students participated in a ceremony held at Xavier University and earned a lifetime membership and a graduation honor cord.  To be inducted, students must have a 3.0 overall grade point average as well as 3.3 chemistry grade point average, junior classification, and have completed at least 20 semester hours of chemistry.  Dr. Stassi DiMaggio serves as the dedicated faculty advisor of Xavier’s PLU Chapter.

Norman C. Francis Excellence in Scholarship Awards

Six faculty members were presented the inaugural Norman C. Francis Faculty Excellence Awards, designed to bestow the highest honors annually to faculty members who exemplify first rate performance in the areas of teaching, scholarship and service.  Both of the Norman C. Francis Excellence in Scholarship Awards went to Chemistry Department Faculty.  Dr. Cheryl Stevens won the Excellence in Scholarship Award for Senior Faculty and Dr. Bryan Bilyeu won the Excellence in Scholarship Award for junior faculty.

Chemistry Faculty Honored for Dedicated Years of Service

Four Chemistry Department Faculty members were among the Xavier faculty and staff honored for their dedicated years of service at a ceremony that took place on October 6, 2009. They were Dr. John Sevenair (35 years), Dr. Teresa Birdwhistell (20 years), Dr. Ann Privett (20 years), and Dr. Galina Goloverda (10 years).

XU Chemistry Club Earns Distinction as an Outstanding Chapter

The Xavier Chemistry Club, affiliated with the American Chemical Society again earned the distinction as an Outstanding Chapter.  The Xavier Chem Club has over 100 members who participate in community outreach activities, service days, seminars, social events, and National Chemistry Week.  Drs. Mike Adams and Ann Privett serve as the dedicated and tireless faculty advisors to the Chem Club.


Campus Map        Directory         Contact Us         EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS    © Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved.
(504) 486-7411
EST 1925