Xavier University of Louisiana

Xavier University of Louisiana
Department of Mass Communication

1 Drexel Drive

Campus Box 93

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-520-5092 phone

504-520-7919 fax




Alumni Successes

Maya Jones

Maya Jones, a 2012 mass communications [print concentration] graduate, was selected as a 2012 Chips Quinn scholar and to the national Sports Journalism Institute. On May 12, as a Chipster, she will go to the Freedom Forum's Diversity Institute at the John Seigenthaler Center in Nashville, for further media training. Then, she will spend June 1-9 in-residence at the University of Missouri School of Journalism as a participant in this year's Sports Journalism Institute's "boot camp." She then will complete a paid internship at the Detroit News (only 2 SJI internships are paid). Both selections are highly competitive. http://sportsjournalisminstitute.org/blog/sji-welcomes-its-20th-class/


Mylinh Hoang

Mylinh Hoang, a 2012 mass communications [broadcast concentration] graduate was selected as one of 12 summer 2012 Diversity Institute Multimedia Scholars. She will complete an 11-day immersion multimedia course, followed by a paid, 8-week internship, during which time she will help to launch a television station in Hagerstown, Md.  Hoang has also been selected as one of the approximately twenty (20) students from around the country to be a Chips Quinn Scholar http://freedomforumdiversity.org/chips-quinn/about/ She will spend time at the John Seigenthaler Center in Nashville and then be assigned to a participating news agency in the U.S. for a ten to twelve week paid internship.


Dominique Gabriel was of the two Summa Cum Laude graduates and Ariel Johnson was one of the three (3) who earned the distinction of Magna Cum Laude.   Ariel has received a fellowship and will be attending Penn State University in the Fall while Dominique is exploring career options in the field.


Jessica Johnson, who served as the XTV News Producer for the year, produced the first newscast that incorporated CNN news feeds. Xavier is one of five CNN college and university newsource affiliates in the state. Jessica will be starting Film School at the University of New Orleans in the Fall. 


Michael Sanders After graduating from Xavier University of Louisiana in 2008, with a Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication and a minor in Speech Communication (now Communication Studies), Sanders attended Louisiana State University (LSU) and received a Master of Arts in Communication Studies with an emphasis in Performance in the summer of 2010. He went on to teach for a year as a full-time instructor at LSU in the Communication Studies department and simultaneously did a number of performances with the HopKins Blackbox, LSU's experimental performance theatre. Sanders recently moved to New York City to etch a career in performance, communication, and entertainment.


Gregory Lee - New NABJ President – Xavier Mass Communication Grad The National Association of Black Journalists announced on August 5 that Gregory Lee, a 1996 graduate of Xavier's Communication Department, had been elected the 19th President of the organization. Lee, the Senior Assistant Sports Editor at The Boston Globe and the current NABJ Treasurer, won the election with 294 votes, 57% of the vote, defeating opponent Deirdre Childress of The Philadelphia Inquirer who received 168 votes. Born in New Orleans, LA, Lee is the eldest of three children. The 37 year-old is one of the youngest elected presidents of the 3,400 member organization. He has also worked for the The Times-Picayune and The Washington Post. During his career in NABJ Lee served for four years as the national secretary and has also served an unprecedented four terms as chair of the Sports Journalism Task Force. - via nabj.com Gregory Lee is the first recipient of the Department's Distinguished Alumnus Award.


Allison B. Hudson, a 2008 Mass Communication graduate is employed with Gatehouse Media Inc. and serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the Donaldsonville Chief newspaper in Donaldsonville, Louisiana. She has served in this capacity for the past three years. In addition to the newspaper business, Hudson serves as one of the Donaldsonville Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and incoming 2012-2013 Chamber President, 2011-2012 Rotary Club of Donaldsonville President, being the youngest President served, Communications Director for the Donaldsonville Louisiana Ready Development Committee, and teaches Spanish and Salsa to children under the City of Donaldsonville's 21st Century Bright Futures program. Hudson was named one of the top 25 under 35 Editors and Publishers in Editor's and Publisher's Magazine, a nominee for the Woman of Excellence Award from the Louisiana Legislative Women's Caucus for 2011, and a host of awards recognizing her talents from the Louisiana Press Association.

The Department of Communications congratulates the following students on their employment opportunities, acceptance to and graduation from graduate school:


Kaitlyn Gaddis – Teacher, Teach for America
Kirsten Smith – Speech-Language Pathology Assistant, Therapy Unlimited

Graduate School

Deshanna McDonald – Lamar University – Communication Disorders
Yaesha Joseph – Lamar University – Communication Disorders
Joy Sorells – Howard University – Communication Disorders

Student Successes

Corinne Williams, class of 2013, Speech Pathology major, has been selected as a McNair Scholar. Xavier University's Ronald McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program is designed to increase the numbers of first-generation and underrepresented students completing doctoral programs.


Kaitlyn Gaddis

Kaitlyn Gaddis, Speech Pathology major, has been elected president of the Student Government Association for 2011-2012.


Tiara Barthe

Tiara Barthe (Mass Communication major and Communication Studies minor) published "The Different Shades of Brown" in XULAneXUS, Xavier's online undergraduate research journal. The creative scholarship was first developed in CMST 2400: The Theatre and later performed on campus and at the Petit Jean Performance Festival. Her work is available at: http://xulanexus.xula.edu/textpattern/index.php?id=107.


Maya Jones (Mass Communication major) has been selected as the Editor of the Xavier Herald.

Faculty Successes

Dr. Elizabeth Edgecomb was selected to the top papers panel in performance studies at the Southern States Communication Association conference (April 2012)

Dr. Lisa Flanagan and Dr. Elizabeth Edgecomb both received a QEP “Read Today, Lead Tomorrow” course mini-grant in 2011-2012.

Dr. Elizabeth Edgecomb received a FaCTS Fellow grant from CAT in 2012.

Dr. Joe Melcher received the 2012 Norman C. Francis Faculty Excellence in Service Award.

Dr. Dominique Gendrin received the 2012 SSCA Outreach award for diversifying the discipline and engaging students in undergraduate research. She also received the 2012 Senior Faculty Scholarship Award for her extensive research in culture, race, and communication.