The English Program

The English Education Program

Senior Comprehensives

The Creative Writing Minor



Writing Resource Center

Info. for Students

Plagiarism Statement (doc)

Plagiarism Statement (pdf)


Creative Writing at Xavier University


Mr. Mark Whitaker, Director (Fiction)
Dr. Biljana D. Obradovic (Poetry, Translation)
Mr. James Shade (Playwriting, Screenwriting)
Ms. Katheryn Laborde (Creative Nonfiction, Faculty Advisor, New Voices - Xavier University's undergraduate creative journal)

Required Courses

The 2014-16 catalogue is available online; scroll down to p. 130 for the Creative Writing minor. A complete list of courses can be found on pages 270-1.


Reading Series

Director: Dr. Biljana D. Obradovic, Professor, Poet

Past Visiting Writers

Xavier University's Literary Reading Series has included: Biljana D. Obradovic, Patricia A. Ward, Michele Pichon, Gregory Donovan, Reginald McKnight, Nikky Finney, Jerry McGuire, Toi Derricotte, Gloria Wade-Gayles, Niyi Osundare, Joel Dailey, Allison Joseph, Xiaobin Yang, Michael Harper, Philip Dacey, Mark Whitaker, Maxine Cassin, Terrance Hayes, Lupenga Mphande, Leo Luke Marcello, Patrice Melnick, Christopher Chambers, Richard Collins, John Gery, Amiri Baraka, Bruce Weigl, Ethelbert Miller, Hilda Raz, Agymah Kwadwo Kamau, Henry Taylor, Marcia Southwick, Lenard Duane Moore, Mona Lisa Saloy, Paula Closen Buck, Jericho Brown, Kay Murphy, Major Jackson, Darrel Bourque, Charles Fort, R. Flowers Rivera, Domnica Radulescu, Erna Brodber, and many others as well as Calalloo (Creative Writing Outreach to HBCUs on campus visit with writers, 20 students participated in the workshops).

Xavier Student Awards for Creative Writing Our program offers several awards each semester which are monetary, but students who enter these contests may be published in our student magazine, New Voices.

The Nora V. Pierce Creative Writing Award

The Truman Capote Literary Trust Awards

The Truman Capote Literary Trust has been the program's major benefactor for over a decade, providing two annual scholarships, used to be $13,000 (but is much less now) to continuing Xavier students. Scholarship winners are chosen on the merit of manuscripts, by a judge who is a professional creative writer and who has no affiliation with Xavier University. Past judges have included Toi Derricote, Percival Everette, John Gery, Mona Lisa Saloy, Lorenzo Thomas and Kay Murphy. The Trust also supports the graduate writing programs at The University of Iowa, Stanford University, The University of Alabama, and Rutgers University.

Two National Association of University Women Creative Writing Awards

All manuscripts are forwarded to New Voices for consideration for inclusion in next year's issue of New Voices.

We are proud that several of our Creative Writing graduates went on to M.F.A. and Ph.D. programs. They are:

  • Troy Baham went to Texas to pursue his MFA in Creative Writing Poetry.
  • Kristina Robinson went to the University of New Orleans, to pursue her MFA in Creative Writing Poetry.
  • Miranda Bradford went to Hollands for an MFA.
  • Danielle Littlefield went to Sarah Lawrence for an MFA.
  • Jonathan Moody went to the University of Pittsburgh for an MFA(poetry).
  • Jamila Smith recevied an MFA in Children's and Adolescent Literature at Chatham University, and is now doing a Ph.D.
  • Header

    Facebook We are on Facebook as "XULA English"... Join us!