First-year College of Pharmacy students (L-R) Samatha Thiaville, Loc Nguyen, Devinn Rolland, and Taylor Reuther sign their professional oaths at the 12th annual White Coat Ceremony, during which the neophyte students received their first professional uniform - the white jacket - symbolizing ethical practice and signifying the beginning of their professional pharmacy educations.

photo by Irving Johnson III



Alumnus Rashad Wilkerson '96, sporting the “legacy” shirt provided by the Alumni Relations office, is a proud papa as he introduces his son and incoming freshman Rashad to XU President Dr. Norman C. Francis during the New Student Orientation program for the Class of 2017 and their families. As a student he was a Peer Dean, and a member of Omega Psi Phi and the Student Government Association.

photo by Whitney Forstall Grandpre' '03


animal tracks


Incoming freshman participating in this summer’s Business Achievers program – (L-R) Gabriel Jones, Erica Greenwood, Gregory Hairston, Teneaka White, and Lauren Smith – enjoy a break in front of the Audubon Zoo’s Elephant Fountain during a visit to learn about behind the scenes operations.

photo courtesy Division of Business


The late Hal Brown ’69 was honored by the New Orleans City Council for his contributions to various community and educational programs, and development projects in New Orleans during his lifetime. On hand for the occasion were XU representatives and family members: (L-R) VP for Facilities Planning and Management Marion Bracy, sister Dr. Carolyn Block-Arnelle ‘63, wife Shawn Kennedy, Senior VP for Administration Ralph Johnson, and nephew Michael Arnelle, now a senior at Xavier.

photo by Irving Johnson III



Xavier undergraduates attending the Summer Medical Education Programs (SMEP) at Yale and Columbia Universities, stage a family reunion during the Tri-State Recruitment Fair hosted by the Columbia University Med Center: (L-R) Jamie Bolden '15, Leanna Rucker '16, Sherry Reddix '16, Peyton Taylor '16, Aujarimere Lewis '16, and Taylor Thornton '16.

photo courtesy of Taylor Thorton

accreditation ACCREDITATION

Representatives from the Division of Business accept reaffirmation of accreditation from the Accreditation Council of Business Schools and Programs at the annual ACSSP conference. On hand for the occasion were: (L-R) ACBSP Board of Commissioners Chair Dr. Anthony Negbenebor, Dr. Anil Kukreja, Dr. Joe Ricks, Dr. James Bartkus, Mr. Mark Quinn, and ACBSP Director of Accreditation Steve Parscale.

photo courtesy Division of Business



(L-R) Drs. Everette White, David Travillion, Sr. ’90, Markitta Jaamison Travillion ’91, Millard Collins ’97, and family stop by the Xavier information booth during the National Medical Association convention in Toronto, Canada. Manning the table is XU staffer Whitney Forstall Grandpre’ ’03. The University also sponsored a “Taste of New Orleans” reception for the more than 50 XU-educated physicians in attendance.

photo courtesy Institutional Advancement



Members of the inaugural class of the Norman C. Francis Leadership Institute (NCFLI) pose with XU President Dr. Norman C. Francis, long-time Harvard Kennedy School faculty member and Institute facilitator Marty Linsky, and Institute staffers during a session break. Participating were: (Front L-R) : Jacob Landry, Brooke Minto, Linsky, Francis, Monica Edwards, Todd McDonald, and Minh Nguyen; (second row) Wendy Gaudin, Voop de Vulpillieres, Mike Busada, Joe Ricks Jr., Melissa Sawyer, Elizabeth Marcell, and Jay Dumas; (third row) Jason Burns, Jade Russell, Jaimme Collins, Amy Collins, Dan Forman, and Jeff Schwartz; and (top row) Dana Peterson, Ronald Carrere Jr., and Michael Griffin. Fellows not pictured: Yu Jiang; Sharonda Williams, Jason Williams, Nolan Marshall III, and Lucas Diaz.

photo by Irving Johnson III

About Xavier - Contact Us - Site Map
© Xavier University of Louisiana. All rights reserved