May 10, 2018

500 graduates were awarded their degrees during Xavier’s 91st annual commencement May 12 at the University Convocation Center.

Award-winning New York Times investigative journalist Nikole Hannah-Jones delivered the keynote address and was awarded an honorary degree, as was President Emeritus Dr. Norman C. Francis ’52.

Five students with perfect 4.0 grade points averages headed this year’s group of 44 summa cum laude graduates, including: Hannah Mbony, a biology/premed major from Brookeville, Md.; and four pharmacy students – Sarah Bilbe of Kenner, La.; Rania El-Desoky of Muscat, Oman; Thao Pham of New Orleans, La.; and Amanda Stevens of Kenner, La.

Bryan Redmond (St. Katharine Drexel Award) and Kylar Wiltz (Mother Agatha Ryan Award) earned the University’s top honors for service.

What to read next

Diversity Abroad announced that Xavier University of Louisiana was chosen as the recipient of the 2020 Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion in International Education (EDIIE) Award. Xavier was considered under the Institutional/Organizational category of Student Engagement and Support.


Greetings, In response to the multiple test cancellations during the 2020 year, the Office of Admissions will evaluate high school seniors seeking to enroll in the fall but do not have test scores to submit in support of their Fall 2020 admissions application. For questions regarding the admissions process, including this temporary suspension of our test requirement, please contact us at