Academics October 31 2018

New Orleans LA – Xavier University of Louisiana has added seven new members to its Board of Trustees. Named to initial three-year terms to the governing board were: Dr. Jennifer Adams, Brandon Garrett, Dr. Richard Gilder III, Claudia Marmolejo, Meredith Marshall, Dr. Derek Robinson ’98, and Joseph West.

At the summer meeting, the Board also re-elected Sonia Perez to serve as Chair, and elected Gladstone Jones III and Justin Augustine III to serve as the new Vice Chair and Board Secretary, respectively.  

New Xavier University of Louisiana Board of Trustees Members

Adams is an Assistant Professor of Medicine and Co-Director of the NYU School of Medicine Primary Care Residency Program and an attending physician at Gouverneur Diagnostic and Treatment Center. She is directly responsible for the incorporation of the NYU Macy 3T web-based, interactive curriculum and a longitudinal IPE experience for the primary care residents. She is a lead on the HRSA funded program that seeks to prepare Adult Nurse Practitioners to become certified in Adult-Gerontology Primary Care.

Garrett serves as Chief Operating Officer and Chief of Staff to the CEO at the National Minority Quality Forum, a Washington D.C.-based research and educational organization dedicated to assuring that the American health services research, delivery and financing system is structured to provide the highest quality health care to all population cohorts. He previously served in various capacities on Capitol Hill, directing policy for two Congresspersons, the Congressional Black Caucus, and former Vice-President Joe Biden.

Gilder, the Director of Latin at The Wheeler School in Providence RI, has published a Latin text entering its second edition. He founded and served as Board Chair for The Latin Programme–Via Facilis in London, a non-profit literacy initiative, in addition to serving as a Board member of The Paideia Institute in New York City, an organization that promotes the study of classical Humanities and as is a partner in Gilder Office for Growth in Durham, NC. 

Marmolejo is the Executive Director and the Chief Operating Officer of the Client Development Group at Morgan Stanley Wealth Management and is the Co-Head of the Firm’s Latino Employee Network. Previously, she was an attorney for 10 years with the Morgan Stanley Legal and Compliance Division where she provided legal coverage to various businesses in Wealth Management.

Marshall serves as the Managing Partner and Co-Founder of Brownstone Realty Partners (BRP) Companies, a New York-based real estate firm that develops affordable, mixed-income, market-rate housing and commercial developments. The company has over $2 billion in past and current developments and another billion in pipeline developments. BRP has projects in Brooklyn, Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens and Philadelphia. Prior to co-founding BRP, Marshall served as the Managing Director at Musa Capital Advisors and a Senior Associate at Wasserstein Perella & Co.

Robinson, a 1998 Xavier graduate, is vice president and chief medical officer for Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois (BCBSIL), a division of Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC). In this role, Dr. Robinson provides clinical leadership and strategic oversight to help ensure effective and efficient delivery of quality medical care to more than 8.5 million health plan members.

West serves as a partner in the Duane Morris Trial Practice Group and as a member of the Partners Board in Philadelphia PA. He is also Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer advising and training clients internationally on issues related to diversity and inclusion and the compliance, risk management and corporate strategies associated with these issues.

Carryovers on the 24-member Board – who are currently serving either their first or second terms – include: Augustine, Dr. Gilda Barabino ’78, the Honorable Carmen Bermudez, Sister Donna Breslin S.B.S., Sister Amelia Breton S.B.S., Sister Theresa Chato S.B.S. ’71, Dr. Sally Clausen, Mark Goodman, Dr. John Jackson IV ’94, Jones, the Honorable Judge Ivan Lemelle ‘71, Alden J. McDonald Jr., the Honorable Marc H. Morial, Perez, Paula Saizan ‘69, James Swanson, and Mary Zervigon. XU President Dr. Reynold Verret serves as an ex-officio member of the Board.

Rotating off of the Board after having served twelve and thirteen years respectively are Bishop Curtis John Guillory S.V.D. and Michael Rue.